The Pharmacist Awards, 30 June 2016 - Solutions 4 Health

The Pharmacist Awards, 30 June 2016

8 July 2016

Final Pharmacist SHOW LOGO outlined

Community pharmacists, pharmacy advocates and public health allies gathered in the glittering conservatory at the Millennium Gloucester hotel on 30 June 2016 to celebrate The Pharmacist’s inaugural awards.

The awards were our toast to the ambitious forward-thinkers in independent community pharmacy and recognised those who lead from the front in the campaign to take on more services.

These pharmacists provide high quality, easily accessible services contributing to their local health economy and reducing the strain on GPs and urgent and emergency care.

It is commonly said if GPs collapse, the NHS fails. At The Pharmacist we believe if pharmacy is not supported, then GPs will suffer which, in turn, has a huge and damaging impact on the NHS.

Zinc Media was thrilled to host the first pharmacy awards, where guests were treated to a wine reception with music and a three-course dinner in the beautiful and airy venue in Kensington, London.

Ade Williams, pharmacist at Bedminster Pharmacy, was delighted to scoop the award for best Healthy Living Pharmacy.

“We set out not only to achieve Healthy Living Pharmacy accreditation but also to influence and change our community,” he said.

“There has been a great team effort, we have been very creative with our displays to help get health messages out and we use social media as well.

“It has been a very good journey for us and as a team we have found it very fulfilling.”

Winner of the pharmacy advocate category Michelle Dyoss, from the Office of Public Health in Dudley, said: “I’m surprised and shocked and really proud to win this award.

“In Dudley our commissioners really appreciate community pharmacy, so our campaigns, any initiatives, any projects, and pilot services all go through community pharmacy.”

Linda Mace, UK Business Development & Sales Manager at NHS Salisbury, was thrilled to score the award for best OTC product with My Trusty Sunflower Cream.

“This is brilliant, this is an absolute accolade for us because this product has been around for 30 years and we are the first NHS establishment in the UK that has commercialised its own product.

“This is a really, really good awards for us. The pharmacist’s role is really about education and showing people how to look after themselves and the products they have in their pharmacies will help them do that.”

Full list of winners and nominees
‘W’ denotes the winner

Flu service of the year
Weldricks Pharmacy, Darnall Primary Care Centre
Broadway Pharmacy (W)
Allison and Sons

Best OTC product
Kit & Coco, head lice treatment range
Salisbury District Hospital, “My trusty sunflower cream” (W)
Mentholatum, deep freeze range
Docusol Paediatric, Typharm

Smoking cessation provider
Hollywood Pharmacy
Beautychem Pharmacy
Clockwork Pharmacy
Kasli Pharmacy (W)

Best pain management
Typharm (W)

Pharmacy advocate
Michelle Dyoss, Office of Public Health, Dudley (W)
Mahendra Patel, Principal Enterprise Fellow of Pharmacy, University of Huddersfield
Harpreet Shergill, London & South England Region Community Pharmacy
Hala Jawad, IMH Group
Ravi Sharma, Green Light Pharmacy
Olutayo Arikawe, the Priory Community Pharmacy
Ade Williams, the Bedminster Pharmacy

Community Innovation
The Priory Community Pharmacy
The Bedminster Pharmacy
Community Pharmacy Derbyshire, “Osteoporosis partnership”
Community Pharmacy West Yorkshire, “Making time” (W)
NHS South Sefton CCG, “Order only what you need”
Radian, Eastleigh, “Wellbeing wagon”
East Lancashire Hospitals NHS Trust, “Refer to pharmacy”

Healthy Living Pharmacy
The Priory Community Pharmacy
Bedminster Pharmacy (W)
Clockwork Pharmacy

Health champion
Kelly-Marie Ball, The Priory Community Pharmacy (W)
Claire Walker, Office of Public Health, Dudley
Beata Mularska, Bedminster Pharmacy team

Darush Attar-Zadeh, Barnet CCG receiving his award

Darush Attar-Zadeh, Barnet CCG receiving his award

Respiratory service
Darush Attar-Zadeh, Barnet CCG (W)
Gillian Cameron, NHS Greater Glasgow and Clyde
Amit Patel, South Sefton CCG and North Manchester CCG
Sexual health champion
Beautychem Pharmacy (W)
Clockwork Pharmacy
Felixstowe Pharmacy

Best specials provider
Alium (W)
IPS Specials
Nova Lab

Pharmacy prescriber
Claire Barber, St Martins Healthcare Service (W)
Alpana Mair, Deputy chief pharmaceutical officer for Scotland
Mark Stone, Devon LPC pharmacist and primary care pharmacist, independent prescriber

Best infant nutrition provider
Nanny Care (W)
Hipp UK

Star minor ailments
The Priory Community Pharmacy
Clockwork Pharmacy
Green Light Pharmacy (W)

For more information, or if you have any questions, please contact news editor Rachel Mountain on:
0207 074 7714


An ISO 9001 & ISO 27001 registered firm Compliance assessed with SS2Q & have achieved QISMET certification.

ISO Accredited

ISO Accredited

ISO Accredited



Cardio Wellness

Smokefree Action Member

Regulated by the Care Quality Commission

JOSCAR Registered



Crown Commercial Service Supplier

Armed forces covenant

National Autistic Society

We are fully GDPR Compliant